" order_by="sortorder" order_direction="ASC" returns="included" maximum_entity_count="500"]

Archive for March, 2011

Quality Control Craftsman Introduced at Duke Energy

On March 1, 2011, Gribbins Insulation and the International  Association of Heat and Frost Insulators and Allied Workers introduced the “Quality Control Craftsman” (QCC) for the duration of their work at Duke Energy’s new IGCC power plant in Edwardsport, Indiana.  Gribbins Insulation partnered with the International to establish the QCC position at the Duke jobsite, which supports the “Professional Craftsman Code of Conduct” (PCCC) among all union insulators.

According to James Grogan, General President of the International, the PCCC program “establishes standards of conduct to be embraced by every member of our union both on and off the jobsite.  The standards apply to safety practices, quality of work, and dedication to professionalism.”  To ensure compliance with all aspects of the PCCC, Local 37’s executive board, including Business Manager Pat Barron Jr.,  established the special QCC position at the Edwardsport jobsite.  The QCC, Steve Gaiser, works full-time at the Duke jobsite to reinforce the standards of the PCCC on a daily basis among all insulators, reporting directly to Local 37’s executive board.  For more information, visit the International’s QCC website at http://www.insulators.org/QCC/main/index.asp.

Gribbins Insulation is committed to its core values of integrity, safety, quality, productivity, and innovation.  This partnership with the International to establish the QCC position at a jobsite is a first for a Gribbins Insulation project.  Representatives of Gribbins Insulation, Local 37, and Duke Energy were present for the introduction of the PCCC program and QCC position in Edwardsport.

Top row: Cost Control Specialist Jamie Waldroup, Safety Coordinator Rick Jordan, Duke Construction Coordinator Ric Grimmer, Jeremy Littrell, Fit Tight Covers Design Specialist Calvin Brasel, Gary Green, QCC Steve Gaiser, Mike Bradley, Mark Laubscher

Bottom row: Gribbins Vice President Brian Willett, General Foreman Nathan Schiff, Derek Beck, Construction Manager David Mills, Gribbins President Jim Gribbins, Local 37 Business Manager Pat Barron Jr., Adam Goebel, Jake Jordan, John Staalenburg, Andy Kraus

Gribbins Insulation’s commitment to quality and safety has been recognized consistently by state and national organizations.  View a list of all of our awards here.

Gribbins Insulation wins Indiana Governor’s Workplace Safety Award

Gribbins Insulation was honored with the 2011 Governor’s Workplace Safety Award for Overall Safety in Construction.  The award was presented at the Indiana Safety and Health Conference and Exposition (Feb. 28 to March 2), during the Governor’s Workplace Safety Awards Luncheon on Wednesday, March 2, 2011, at the Indianapolis Marriott East.

Safety Manager Trevor Atherton and Indiana Commissioner of Labor Lori A. Torres

The annual Governor’s Workplace Safety Awards are a result of a partnership among the Indiana Department of Labor, Governor Mitch Daniels, the Indiana Chamber of Commerce, and the Central Indiana Chapter of the American Society of Safety Engineers.  All Hoosier businesses, unions, municipalities, schools, service organizations, and nonprofit organizations were eligible to apply for the awards, regardless of size or number of employees.  Learn more at the Indiana Department of Labor’s website.

Indiana Commissioner of Labor Lori A. Torres presented the award to Trevor Atherton, Safety Manager for Gribbins Insulation. According to Ms. Torres, “Gribbins Insulation has shown a tremendous commitment to the safety and health of its employees and the community.  Through forward thinking and responsiveness, [Gribbins Insulation] has created an efficient, progressive answer to workplace safety and health issues.”

Gribbins Insulation is honored to be recognized in this elite class of Hoosier businesses.  In addition to winning the 2011 Governor’s Workplace Safety Award for Overall Safety in Construction, Gribbins Insulation has won the following safety awards over the past year:

  • Indiana Construction Association (ICA) Gold Summit Safety Award
  • Marathon Division Manager’s Contractor Safety Excellence Award
  • Metro Indianapolis Coalition for Construction Safety (MICCS) Safety Leader Award (Specialty Contractor) and Safety Achievement Award
  • National Maintenance Agreements Policy Committee (NMAPC) Zero Recordable Injury Certificate of Merit
  • National Safety Council (NSC) Occupational Excellence Achievement Award
  • The Association of Union Constructors (TAUC) Thomas J. Reynolds Award for Excellence in Construction Safety

For the most up-to-date news on Gribbins Insulation, follow us on Facebook.

President’s Message

2019 Safety Star Winners

Posted: 07/02/19 By: Megan Knoll, Dir of Marketing

Safety STAR winners from the first half of 2019!

Read Full Article

2018 Q1 Safety Stars!

Posted: 04/19/18 By: Megan Knoll, Dir of Marketing

Working at heights, training, possible asbestos, and even icicles!

Read Full Article

Toolbox Talk

2019 Safety Star Winners

Posted: 07/02/19 By: Megan Knoll, Dir of Marketing

Safety STAR winners from the first half of 2019!

Read Full Article

Heat Stress and Related Illnesses

Posted: 05/27/19 By: Megan Knoll, Dir of Marketing

Higher temperatures can lead to heat-related illnesses. Learn to recognize the symptoms and catch them early.

Read Full Article