" order_by="sortorder" order_direction="ASC" returns="included" maximum_entity_count="500"]

Archive for December, 2011

Gribbins Insulation Wins Five Safety Awards in a Month

From October 26, 2011, to November 17, 2011, Gribbins Insulation received five safety awards from four different organizations.

Gribbins Insulation’s many safety awards reflect the company’s commitment to an effective safety program.  As stated by Jim Gribbins, President and Founder, “There is absolutely no task that is so important that we might consider sacrificing safety, to even the slightest degree, in an effort to perform the task.”  Most recently, the Indiana Construction Association (ICA) honored Gribbins with two awards – the Gold Summit Award and the Pinnacle Safety Award.

The ICA annually recognizes Indiana contractors and subcontractors for their safety achievements.  At the annual membership meeting in Indianapolis on November 17, 2011, Gribbins Insulation received the Gold Summit Safety Award along with eight other contractors.  This is the fourth consecutive year the ICA has honored Gribbins with the Gold Summit Award.  From the nine recipients, Gribbins was also chosen by the ICA Selection Committee for their highest safety award, the Pinnacle Safety Award, as the overall leader in construction employee safety.  Gribbins received this award previously in 2009.

Jim Gribbins and Trevor Atherton, with Gold Summit and Pinnacle Safety Awards

The ICA Safety Awards Program recognizes general contractors, prime contractors, construction managers and subcontractors for their commitment to excellence in employee and jobsite safety. Employees and supervisors of contractors and subcontractors throughout Indiana vying for this award were confidentially surveyed to test how well the company’s safety program is understood and implemented.  This allows the Committee to select companies whose safety programs are both well written and effectively implemented on the jobsite.  Read more: http://news.inconstruction.org/November2011/111130/ICA_Safety_Awards_Newsletter_Article.pdf

Earlier in the fall, Gribbins Insulation received safety honors from three other national organizations committed to the pursuit of safety excellence.

October 26: At the National Building Museum in Washington, D.C., the National Maintenance Agreements Policy Committee (NMAPC) gave the Zero Injury Safety Awards to companies with zero recordable injuries at jobsites in 2010.  Gribbins was recognized for work at three different jobsites, totaling over 194,000 hours worked without injuries.  Read more: http://www.nmapc.org/zisa/

October 31: EHS Today named Gribbins one of the 2011 America’s Safest Companies at the award ceremony in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, along with only twelve other companies, including Fluor Enterprises and Caterpillar Inc.  Gribbins was the second smallest company honored.  Read more: http://ehstoday.com/safety/management/americas_safest_companies_0111/

November 8: The Construction Users Roundtable (CURT), an association of large construction users including Procter & Gamble and Duke Energy, chose Gribbins Insulation as a winner of the Construction Industry Safety Excellence (CISE) Award during the national conference in Phoenix, Arizona.  Applications were accepted from CURT members throughout the United States and Canada.  Read more: http://www.curt.org/Awards-Safety-CISE-Awards.aspx

In alphabetical order, Gribbins Insulation won the following safety awards in 2011:

  • Construction User’s Roundtable (CURT) Construction Industry Safety Excellence (CISE) Award
  • EHS Today’s list of America’s Safest Companies
  • Indiana Construction Association (ICA) Gold Summit Award
  • Indiana Construction Association (ICA) Pinnacle Award
  • Indiana Governor’s Workplace Safety Award for Overall Safety in Construction
  • Marathon Petroleum Company Illinois Refining Division Manager’s Contractor Safety Excellence Award
  • Metro Indianapolis Coalition for Construction Safety (MICCS) Safety Achievement Award
  • National Maintenance Agreements Policy Committee (NMAPC) Zero Recordable Injury Certificate of Merit – for three different jobsites
  • The Association of Union Constructors (TAUC) Thomas J. Reynolds Award for Excellence in Construction Safety

President’s Message

Q4 2017 Safety Star Winners

Posted: 02/02/18 By: Megan Knoll, Dir of Marketing

Announcing our final safety star winners from 2017!

Read Full Article

Safety STARS!

Posted: 01/16/18 By: admin

Announcing our Safety STAR winners from the 3rd quarter of 2017

Read Full Article

Toolbox Talk

Incident Reporting and Record Keeping

Posted: 01/29/18 By: Trevor Atherton, Safety Mgr

Report all incidents to your foreman or the safety department immediately!

Read Full Article


Posted: 01/22/18 By: Trevor Atherton, Safety Mgr

Formaldehyde is a highly toxic agent that should be handled with extreme caution. OSHA encourages employers to follow standard requirements in order to maintain the safest work environment.

Read Full Article